Geography Bowl

Geography Bowl Information

ALL WLDAAG graduate and undergraduate students are encouraged to attend a quiz bowl tournament – the Geography Bowl – scheduled on Thursday, October 24th 6:30-8:00 PM. Any student interested should indicate his/her desire to participate in the event during on-line registration for the conference. Otherwise, the student CAN still participate if he/she can sign up at the registration desk by 6:00 PM on Thursday, October 24th.

The top six winning students will be announced at the evening banquet on Friday, October 25th. They will form the WLDAAG team to participate in the World Geography Bowl held at the 2020 Annual Meeting of the AAG at Denver, CO, April 6-10th. Upon completion of this activity, each of the WLDAAG team participants will be awarded with a $250 travel stipend, co-sponsored by the AAG and WLDAAG, to cover their costs for attending the national AAG meeting.

2019 WLDAAG Geography Bowl Winners2019 Geography Bowl Winners

Top six winners:

  • Grant Burke, University of Northern Iowa​

  • Petr Grin, University of Northern Iowa​

  • Christopher Archuleta, University of Wisconsin – Madison​

  • Alexis Sjullie, Central College​

  • Paula Carvalho de Castro, University of Northern Iowa​

  • Seth Kannarr, Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville

Top two alternatives:

  • Claire Iott, Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville

  • Natalie Nunez, University of Northern Iowa

Contact us:

If you have questions about the program, please contact Bingqing Liang at

For questions regarding registration or abstract submission, please contact or 319-273-3713.